Pseudo Live Tweet: An Explanation

I have gotten into the habit of live tweeting books when I’m reading them and expecting to comment on them about representation. It helps me work out my feelings as I read the book, and since it sometimes takes me ages to get around to a proper review (I should really work on this) it at least gives me something to point to when the book comes up in conversation.

However, I don’t think I can do this well when I know the author follows me. I think I will feel constrained about talking about the book as freely as I usually do, and it means that the author has to choose between muting/unfollowing me or having my thread keep showing up in their feed.

To handle this problem I have decided that for books in this situation I will do a live tweet, but entirely here. I will update the post as I go, adding onto the end like it is a twitter thread. It gives the author the choice if they wish to read my thoughts, and knowing it isn’t being shoved in their face should allow me to feel like I can write more freely.

2 thoughts on “Pseudo Live Tweet: An Explanation

Leave a Reply

